Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified
Endless Space
Universe banner wording

ENDLESS™ Space is a turn-based 4X strategy game, covering the space colonization age in the ENDLESS™ Universe. You control every aspect of your civilization as you strive for galactic dominion.

Custom AI programming

Copied to clipboard!
10 years ago
Jun 28, 2014, 8:31:07 AM
So this is kind of an unusual request, but I figured I'd at least brainstorm with the community about it.

I'm a software developer. I do quite a bit of algorithm design.

Endless Space has a lot of things that make it attractive for 3rd-party AI design. For one thing it's a pretty robust strategy game, with a variety of different playstyles. For another thing I've seen a lot of threads about how the default AI cheats, behaves unrealistically, etc. So potentially a 3rd-party AI might add a lot to the game. And, you know, it's an interesting challenge.

However, the hardest part is getting started. And by that I mean getting some kind of process running, that can know the sort of game state that the player would know and be able to issue commands. Here's my brain dump on that problem:

• It can't be accomplished through any of the official mod mechanisms, which are limited to XML files only. Doing better AI requires running real code.
  • I don't think it can be accomplished through the plugin mechanism either. I poked around a bit at GalaxyGenerator.dll and it doesn't seem to use a very robust API to communicate with the main process--everything goes through more XML files
  • Something like Matt's D3D9 Interceptor might work. But reading textures to figure out game state is a lot of work. Also, I'm on OSX, and if I have to boot into Windows to work on this I probably won't