logo amplifiers simplified
Humankind
Universe banner wording

QoL: Locating and Traversing Revealed Resources Easily

Copied to clipboard!
2 years ago
Jul 19, 2022, 12:22:08 PM

Hi All,

I'm no professional on Trade, but I think in the Trade Window if you click on a Resource you get to see it on the map.

Why not have such a convenience for your own resources?

Or just resources on the map that you have revealed but no one owns yet?

Currently, every time I want to remember where a Resource is, I have to hopelessly scan the entire map.

In my opinion, there should be an easy way to locate and traverse resources:

1. Clicking a resource on the map, could show left and right arrows on both sides of the resource icon.
    Clicking these will move you to the next visible resource of that type.
    Optionally, some other icon, maybe a double fast-forward arrow, should take you to the next different resource type that has been discovered on the map.

I think the grouping of the resources could be Strategic first, then Luxury.
    Within Strategic: by era.
    Within Luxury: by FIMS, with an inner sorting by luxury effect in each FIMS group being the same.

There could also be an internal separation within each resource type into: Your Resources, Each Empire's Resources and Unclaimed Resources.
  2. Clicking on a resource icon in the upper right corner summary could take you to one of your own resources of that type.
    From there on, it could behave the same way with the arrows. Perhaps only on your resources.
  3. Same goes for clicking on resources in a city\outpost - it could take you to the resource location. Although this is less useful, unless you have a very big city.
  4. On a side note: I think the luxury resources icons in the top right corner should be displayed in 4X5 or 5X4 because there are 4 FIMS and 5 resources in each FIMS.
    Also, in this display, they could be sorted by FIMS and by Effect Type in each FIMS.