Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified
Humankind
Universe banner wording

Map Editor Feature Requests

Copied to clipboard!
3 years ago
Aug 25, 2021, 5:48:21 PM

Hey! With the release of Humankind I've been excitedly putting the map maker to use. I'm hoping to post my first complete map within a few days after doing some playtesting with friends. So far I've really enjoyed using the Map Editor to create maps and wanted to give a huge thank you to the devs for putting power in the hands of the players. It reminds me of the Warcraft III days, where some of the custom maps that were made by users ended up being implemented into the game for everyone to use!

While I have a lot to praise about the map editor, I'd like to touch on several features that should be put on Amplitude's radar for a better map making experience overall. This list is by no means comprehensive, and I'm splitting out the features based on my opinion of priority and effort. I work as a non-game developer so I'm trying to relate to what I believe may be easy or hard to implement.

-- MUST HAVES --

1. [Low Effort] Resource Deposit view toggle. Right now once you place a resource on the map there is no way to see that resource from a high-level view without inspecting each tile by zooming in or right clicking on it to see what resource is there. This is an absolute nightmare to deal with and makes playtesting the main way to catch resource location mistakes.
  2. [Low-Mid Effort] FIMS view toggle. Similar to the resource view toggle, the only way to see the FIMS yields is to jump into a real game on the map, or have everything memorized. This would help immensely with setting up locations and figuring out potential city/output spots.
-- SHOULD HAVES --